ITWA was incorporated on February 17, 1969 by Henry Cristofori of Shelbyville, Robert Mullen of Lafayette and Roger Kinman of Indianapolis.

The purpose of ITWA as defined by the Articles of Incorporation is to:

1.)   Aid in the establishment and maintenance of a uniform and stable system of laws and regulations, relating to regulation and use of towing and wrecker vehicles, and the rights and privileges of the owners and users thereof.

2.)     To promote a better public image for those persons engaged in the towing and wrecker industry.

3.)   To collect and distribute, to its members, information as to matters and things of whatsoever  character concerning the towing and wrecker industry

4.)   To engage in activity permitted by law intended to further and protect the interest of the members of the towing industry.

5.)   To do any and all acts or things incidental, necessary or convenient to the accomplishments of these objects and purpose.

Six other members, Bernard Vance of Hammond, Charles sharp of Gary, John Penninger of Elkhart, Ray Hamilton of South Bend and Bill Hause of Gary, were named to the first Board of Directors.   By the end of 1970 ITWA had 59 Charter members


Who is ITWA? ITWA is led by a Board of Directors made up of two members from each of nine chapters from across the state, the officers and five directors emeritus.  Directors are elected for a two year term and meet five times a year in a meeting open to all members. ITWA members provide a broad range of towing services.  The majority provide law enforcement towing either for a municipality, county or state.  A number do only private property and/or customer based services.   The fleets of recovery trucks available from an ITWA members varies:  6 companies have only heavy duty recovery trucks,  72 provide only light duty service and 76 provide a combination of  light and heavy duty service.In looking at information about the numbers of trucks per company some interesting statistics are apparent. 

Number of Trucks  per company Number of companies Percentage of the total companies
1 4 2.6
2 16 10.6
3-5 60 39.7
6-10 48 31.8
11-15 15 9.9
16-20 3 2.0
Over 20 5 3.3

52.9% of the companies have 5 or fewer trucks; 84.7% have 10 or fewer; and only 15.2% have more than 10 trucks.


ITWA Presidents
1969-1972 Roger Kinman Kinman Wrecker Indianapolis
1973-74 Robert Mullen Mullen Towing Lafayette
1975-76 Tony Nasco Central Auto Pool South Bend
1977 Jack Day Day’s Sunoco Markle
1978-80 Robert Mullen Mullen Towing Lafayette
1981-1982 Albert Theobald Theobald Auto Thorntown
1983-84 Jim Lilly Lilly Standard Merrilllville
1985-86 Butch McKibben Moore Service Elkhart
1987 Don Elmore Martin Service Kokomo
1988-90 Richard Hamilton Hamilton Body Shop South Bend
1991-93 Loyal Bell Froedge’s Crawfordsville
1994-97 Gary Schrol Schroll & Sons Michigan City
1998 – 99 David McGiffen Dave’s Wrecker Vincennes
2000-01 Dave Hunter H & H Wrecker Richmond
2002-04 Troy Jones Troy’s Towing Vincennes
2005-06 Richard Mullen Mullen Towing Lafayette
2007 -08 Grover Cook, Jr. Cook Towing Indianapolis
2009-10 Jeff Rife Rife Truck Parts Winamac
2011 John Callaway First Call Towing Fremont
2012 Tom Bertagnolli Double T Towing Griffithy